YouTube Adds 4 New Indian Languages on Site

The addition of the four new languages is part of an effort to make YouTube accessible for the entire Indian population, the company said.

is now streaming videos in 58 languages, the San Bruno-based company recently said on its blog.

The video sharing site made itself available in India in 2008 by allowing videos in Hindi. Since then, YouTube has added Urdu, Marathi, Bengali and Tamil—some of the 30 regional languages spoken in the country.

Now, YouTube has added four new Indian languages by allowing users to navigate the site in Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam and Telugu, which are spoken by nearly 200 million Indians.

For more news about San Bruno, follow San Bruno Patch on Twitter and "like" us on Facebook. Got Patch in your inbox? Sign up for our newsletter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »