.

S.O.S. Task Force Needs Community's Voice

The new committee is being formed to attempt to address income and budget issues in the San Bruno Park School District.

By now, most of us are aware of the continuing budget issues that the San Bruno Park School district is facing.

After dealing with the long running DDAC committee and then the possibility of closing two schools and even sharing principals, most of us are painfully aware by now of the upcoming budget shortfall that the district will (and continue) to face in the next several months.

During the meeting of the San Bruno Park Board of Trustees on April 17, a was created to take a look at ways to help the district increase revenue. The original intent of this committee was to work with the district to identify and execute of funding opportunities to support education. It was to consist of community members with some board representation.

However, just two weeks after its creation, the S.O.S. committee was in jeopardy of being dissolved before it had even begun.

On the special meeting of the SBPSD board on May 9, an agenda action item brought forward at the request of schools trustee Henderson called for "Refinement of the authorized 'Save Our Schools' Advisory Committee." Unfortunately, the agenda item never made it up for discussion, and now the board is holding a for this very purpose.

The problem is that concerned San Bruno parents have serious reservations about SBPSD involvement in the S.O.S. committee. Given the failures of the board to recognize the work of the DDAC and the "Friday Night" plan to close two schools instead of one, the district board and superintendant find themselves having to deal with a community that simply doesn't trust them.

In light of this, concerned parents who are ready to take action to support education are invited to attend the on Tuesday, May 15, at 6 p.m. at the in City Park.

The goal of this meeting is to begin preliminary discussions about the S.O.S. committee and to answer the many questions about the S.O.S such the form, function, membership and purpose.

Before the Wednesday night board meeting, the community needs to come together on a proposed plan to answer the questions raised and provide clear focus to this discussion. We need to speak up now!

Please join us tomorrow night in San Bruno Park.

Chuck Zelnik May 15, 2012 at 04:21 AM
The propose of electing 5 people to the SBPSD board is for them to hire people to manage the district. I know we all want the best for all children, but if this SOS committee is formed, what powers do the people on the committee really have? If you think the board is just going to vote and approve the committee's recommendations, then you are fooling yourself. You just need to look to the past and you will see they NEVER do what committees recommended. This has been the way they have worked for the past 15 years. Parents, RECALL Henderson, Sanchez and Martinez and then elect people that can do the job correctly! The only chance of getting the district back on track is with new board members who will hire a new superintendent. Chuck Zelnik Former President: San Bruno Park School District
Cliona McHale May 15, 2012 at 05:18 PM
The SOS committee/Task Force needs to explain to the public exactly what its mission is. How is it different from the San Bruno Education Foundation, why not just strengthen that organization and raise its profile in the community?
Joe Capote May 15, 2012 at 08:34 PM
CMM, defining a mission and purpose of the SOS is one the goals of tonight's meeting.
savesanbrunoschools May 15, 2012 at 10:34 PM
SOS was created by d hutt and the Board to support their parcel tax campaign. you want to make SOS work remove d hutt and the Board from any contact or dealings with the SOS group and use it to get rid of d. hutt and recall the Board. if you don;t do this SOS is just more BS.
Joe Capote May 15, 2012 at 11:00 PM
Actually, the SOS committee was created by Jennifer Blanco. At the board meeting tomorrow, the subject will be open for debate since folks are rejecting board involvement at this point. The charge to support the parcel tax or not has not been formally decided by this committee, if it indeed the committee does continue on. I think it is important to remember that saving of San Bruno Schools will require more than a recall effort. If we had a new board and supe in place tomorrow morning, the budget deficit will still exist. Teachers would still be lost and pricipals may still be shared. Those are issues and decisions that we need to face and make regardless. I believe the original intent of this committee was to focus on ways to address that deficit. And even that is up for discussion during tonight's meeting.
Chris Kiely May 15, 2012 at 11:00 PM
I'm afraid San Bruno is going to have to handle this process with a two track mind for awhile. 1)Yes, we need massive Board & Administration turnover. The long term problems are not going to be solved with this crew in there. 2)Unfortuately, we need the prople who caused this problem to keep fixing it, until they are gone. We can't wait for a recall to happen. The problems won't wait that long.
Chris Kiely May 15, 2012 at 11:04 PM
So, can we work with these people while also working to remove them? More importantly, are there grown-ups at the District who can roll up their sleeves and get something done, NOW, even knowing that they are going to get kicked out fairly soon? Or are they just going to phone it in until the axe falls? Refuse to do anything unless people kiss up to them?
Bill Baker May 16, 2012 at 01:16 AM
Joe, OK, so Jennifer Blanco, a SBPSD Board Member who helped lead the failed Measure O campaign, created the SOS Committee. I am sure that she did so with the support of the other Board Members because the SBPSD Board is allowing SBPSD facilities and Board Meeting time to be used to promote and advocate this SOS parcel tax support group. It would take the support of the other Board Members to continue using SBPSD resources and Board time to fund and promote this group. Also, if you take a look at the Save Our Schools flyer, the stated purpose of SOS is: fundraising Parcel Tax Support District Policy Advocacy Do you want to take a shot at talking your way around the facts contained in the flyer ? In my opinion, this is a thinly veiled attempt to use SBPSD resources to promote a parcel tax measure has the stink of Dale Scott and Company or some other political consultant on it. Hutt and his broken Board are paying lots of taxpayer dollars to their consultants to come up with these Wile E. Coyote: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wile_E._Coyote_and_Road_Runner schemes to build a base of support for the sure to fail parcel tax scheme they are trying to shove down voters throats this November in an attempt to fund more of their dysfunction. If this scheme is the best you can do to build support for a parcel tax, turn out the lights because the party is already over. I agree with the previous observation that, "SOS is just more BS".
Joe Capote May 16, 2012 at 03:07 AM
Mr. Baker, Sad to see you no longer support Jennifer Blanco and see her as nothing more than the "a SBPSD Board Member who helped lead the failed Measure O campaign, created the SOS Committee". Why, just the other day (May 10th) you posted this little tidbit on the forum for the article entitled "13 Teachers, Rollingwood Principal Lose Jobs, School Board Says: "Interesting that Jennifer dissented on the parcel tax vote. She is a savvy politician who has a thorough understanding as to how the more subtle aspects of politics work. That's why I supported her for re-election." You seem to be flopping like a flounder there. Care to talk your way around that, big boy?
Bill Baker May 16, 2012 at 05:07 AM
HaHaHa. Joe, thanks for the easy layup. Joseph. If only the world were as simplistic as you see it, you might be more successful in your political endeavors. You might have read my September 15, 2011 Beacon endorsement of Jennifer Blanco in which I stated: "I am not endorsing Ms. Blanco because I agree with her all the time. As a matter of fact, I disagree with many of the decisions she makes as a SBPSD Board Member. However, I am more concerned about a candidate's character and integrity than I am about whether or not they agree with me." Jennifer Blanco, a savvy politician, is well aware of the fact that I do not support her when it comes to her pro tax views. As a matter of fact, when I endorsed her, she was helping lead the Measure O bond campaign that I opposed. That being said, I think Jennifer is a good person who has more courage and integrity than the other members of the SBPSD Board and most certainly Hutt. I certainly reserve the right to disagree with anybody whom I support. You don't have to be in lockstep agreement with me to have me support you. However, you do have to possess a high degree of character and integrity. That's why I supported Ms. Blanco and Mr. Zelnik in the 2011 SBPSD Board Election. By the way Joe, I noticed you weren't able to talk your way around the facts in the flyer. Guess you got a little tongue tied amigo?
Joe Capote May 16, 2012 at 01:08 PM
Mr. Baker - Sorry, that is just not good enough. I appreciate your simple opinions, but you continue to offer no solutions, just the same tired message wrapped in personal attacks. Unfortunately, your zero credibiltiy and relevance demands that I not engage in this simple minded tomfoolery with you. I will wrap this up this conversation by saying that if at any time you decide to offer any actual solutions, I'm sure I would choose to listen. However, at this time it is best if I just go back to what I was, very wisely, doing previously. Tuning you out. Good Day Sir.
Joe Capote May 16, 2012 at 01:15 PM
BTW - That is Mr. Capote to you.
Edwin S May 16, 2012 at 05:08 PM
Bill Baker Your often provide valuable insights for the public. However, they are delivered with fear and loathing. I have read your articles on SBB often, so i know you often support your strong opinions with facts. Yet, your message is ignored since you are perceived as a twisted and hateful old man - you are undermining your own cause. There are so many to ask this question without alienating yourself, drop the snarky tactics and you will see more viewership for the SBB.
Bill Baker May 16, 2012 at 05:50 PM
Golly Joey. Looks like you're having a little temper tantrum today. Let me clarify a few things for you before you return to the kiddie table where you belong. You wrote: "Sorry, that is just not good enough." It would appear that you would have the corner on "not being good enough". Your coming in fourth in a four person school board race falls into the "not being good enough" category. You say that I offer no solutions. That would indicate your reading comprehension level is not too high. My solutions are clear, concise and straightforward. You say, " your zero credibiltiy and relevance demands that I not engage in this simple minded tomfoolery with you". Well gosh Joe, you were one of the Measure O leaders (you even signed the pro Measure O argument) and you lost that while also managing to come in fourth in a four person school board race. It would appear that you are either trying to set a new record for the most political losses in one election or just like losing. Your relevance and credibility have been objectively measured and it would appear that you have neither. You wrote: " at this time it is best if I just go back to what I was, very wisely, doing previously." Good idea and good luck. Hopefully you can find something where you can be successful. And finally, I will be more than happy to call you Mr. Capote once you earn it. Have a nice day :-)
Edwin S May 16, 2012 at 05:56 PM
BB ill say it slowly for you, but fear its far too late for any help and............you.................keep........shooting.........yourself.............in....................the.....................foot..............again............and...............again.............and...........
Bill Baker May 16, 2012 at 06:49 PM
Edwin, thank you for being a loyal Beacon reader. Looks like you're another disgruntled Capote supporter. After all, you did say you voted for Capote. That's cool. As far as the Beacon is concerned, my favorite quote is, "Nobody reads the Beacon". However, I guess we now know that's not true because we know that Edwin W. reads the Beacon. That being said, if nobody reads the Beacon and Edwin W. reads the Beacon, wouldn't that make Edwin W. a nobody? I'll let you figure that one out. It's good you are using an alias to conceal your identity so you don't have to tell your friends, assuming you have any, that you read the Beacon. It's interesting that you accuse me of engaging in the same type of nasty behavior that you are engaging in in your posts. That would make you a bit of a hypocrite? Edwin, if reading the Beacon makes you so (in your words) "twisted and hateful", you really need to find something else to read. Finally, the next time you drop by to read the Beacon, remember this quote: “A wise man gets more use from his enemies than a fool from his friends.” ---- Baltasar Gracián y Morales, SJ
Bill Baker May 16, 2012 at 06:54 PM
OK Edwin. Once again, thanks for reading the Beacon :-)

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »